Jan 2013 London Tweet Up

74606_10152176891352195_949541652_n

 

Last Saturday was a big day for me: my first networking event as a linguist. It took me a little while to decide to go, as I was a bit nervous to go there alone, not knowing anybody. After giving it a little bit of thought, I told to myself: why not, translators are usually nice and friendly people after all :-).

I got to the restaurant in Covent Garden and asked for the organiser of the event, a lady called Val, owner of Rainy London Translations. I was taken to a long table full of translators from everywhere, sharing their experience, their achievements, challenges and upcoming projects.

What I felt when I sat at the table was so weird. Even though I didn’t know any single person, I immediately felt in my element. For the first time in a long time, I felt like I was part of a community I had always belonged to, speaking to people who have the same career ambitions, goals, fears, and the same passion for languages.

I am thrilled to know this event is hosted monthly, and I’m already looking for the next London Tweet Up.

Bye for now!

 

MH

One thought on “Jan 2013 London Tweet Up

  1. Pingback: 10 Things You Should Do When Starting As a Freelance | MH Language Reviews

Leave a Reply

